# 10th RIKEN Advisory Council Members (December 13-16, 2016)

#### Sir Colin Blakemore, Chairman (Neuroscience)

Professor of Neuroscience and Philosophy Institute of Philosophy, School of Advanced Study, University of London

# **Howard Alper, Vice-Chairman** (Chemistry)

Distinguished University Professor, University of Ottawa Chair, Canvassing Committee, Global Excellence Initiative by Canada's Head of State

# Hidetoshi Fukuyama, Vice-Chairman (Basic Solid States Science)

Research Advisor to the President, Tokyo University of Science

## Rita R. Colwell, Chair-Emeritus\* (Oceanography/Molecular Biology)

Distinguished University Professor Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, University of Maryland

\*\*\*\*\*

# **Tony F. Chan** (Mathematics/Computer Science and Engineering) President, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

#### **Hans-Joachim Freund** (Physics/Solid States)

Director of Fritz Haber Institute, Max Plank Society

#### Ikuko Hara-Nishimura (Plant Science)

Professor, Graduate School of Natural Science, Konan University

# **Toshio Hirano** (Medicine: Immunology/Genetics)

President, National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology (Former President, Osaka University)

# Motoko Kotani (Mathematics)

Director, WPI Advanced Institute for Materials Research Tohoku University

## Rainer E. Metternich (Drug Discovery/Medicinal Chemistry)

Former Deputy Chairman of the Board & Acting CSO, Proteros biostructures GmbH, Germany Former Global Head of Small Molecule Research, Hoffmann-La Roche, Switzerland Former Head of Basic Research and Site Head, Merck & Co, USA

## Yasushi Miyashita (Neuroscience)

Professor, Juntendo University School of Medicine

# **Makoto Nagao\*\*** (Information Technology)

Director, International Institute for Advanced Studies (Former President, Kyoto University)

### **Se-Jung Oh** (Physics)

Member of The National Assembly, Republic of Korea (Former Professor of Physics, Seoul National University)

## **Austin Smith** (Embryo Stem Cell Biology)

Professor, Wellcome Trust-Medical Research Council Cambridge Stem Cell Institute

# **Chorh Chuan Tan** (Medicine: Renal Physiology)

President, National University of Singapore

# **Harriet Wallberg\*** (Physiology)

Professor, Karolinska Institutet

(Former University Chancellor, Swedish Higher Education Authority)

# Chi-Huey Wong\* (Chemical Biology)

President Emeritus and Distinguished Research Fellow Genomics Research Center, Academia Sinica

### Nanning Zheng\* (Control Engineering)

Professor/Director, Institute of Artificial Intelligence and Robotics Xi'an Jiaotong University (Former President, Xi'an Jiaotong University)

#### (NOTES)

\*: Absent

\*\*: Mail Review