Members of the 7th RIKEN Advisory Council

Name	Main position and title
Dr. Zach W. Hall, Chair	Emeritus Vice Chancellor, University California, San Francisco
	(founding President, California Institute for Regenerative Medicine)
Dr. Yuan Tseh Lee	President Emeritus and Distinguished Research Fellow, Academia Sinica
Vice-chair	(1986 Nobel Laureate)
Dr. Hiroo Imura, Vice-chair	Chairman, Foundation for Biomedical Research and Innovation
	Principal Fellow (Chair), Center for Research Development Strategy, JST
	(Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University)
Dr. Howard Alper	Distinguished University Professor, University of Ottawa
	Chair, Government of Canada Science, Technology and Innovation Council
Dr. Teruhiko Beppu	Professor, Advanced Research. Institute for the Sciences and Humanities
	Nihon University (Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo,
	former Chairman, Japan Bloindustry Association.)
Dr. Colin Blakemore	Professor of Neuroscience, University of Oxford
	(former Chief Executive, UK Medical Research Council)
Dr. Rita R. Colwell	Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland at College Park
	(11 th Director, National Science Foundation)
Dr. Mitiko Go	Executive Director, Research Organization of Information and Systems
	(former President, Ochanomizu University)
Dr. Toshiaki Ikoma	Executive Vice President, Canon Inc.
	(Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo)
Dr. Biao Jiang	Director, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry
	Chinese Academy of Sciences
Dr. Paul Kienle	Professor Emeritus, Department of Physics, Munich University of Technology
	(former Director, GSI Darmstadt)
Dr. Karin Markides	President, Chalmers University of Technology
Dr. Rainer E. Metternich	Vice President, Basic Research, and site head, West Point, Merck & Co., Inc.
Dr. Hans L. R. Wigzell	Senior Strategic Advisor/Professor, MTC, Karolinska Institutet
	(former President, Karolinska Institutet)
Dr. Allan Bradley	Director, Wellcome Trust Sannger Institute
Dr. Max D. Cooper	Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
	Emory University
Dr. Hidetoshi Fukuyama	Professor, Tokyo University of Science
	(Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo)
Dr. Sydney Gales	Director, Grand Acceleraeur National D'lons Lourds
Dr. Sten Grillner	Professor and Director
	Nobel Institute for Neurophysiology, Karolinska Institutet
Dr. Wilhelm Gruissem	Professor, ETH Zurich, Institute of Plant Sciences
Dr. Jean-Louis Guenét	Director, Unite de Genetique des Mammiferes, Institut Pasteur
Dr. Jerome Hastings	Professor, Photon Science, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Dr. Bengt Långström	Professor, Uppsala University
Dr. Mark Lathrop	Director General, Center National de Genogypage
Dr. Austin Smith	MRC Professor and Director, Wellcome Trust Centre for Stem Cell Research
	University of Cambridge

Total: 25 members (in which 5 are Japanese)