The 6th RIKEN Advisory Council Members

Core RAC Members

Dr. Zach W. Hall *(Chair, RAC, Former Chair BSAC)* President, California Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Dr. Yuan Tseh Lee (*Vice-Chair, RAC*) President, Academia Sinica

Dr. Henrry G. Friesen (Former Chair, RAC) Senior Fellow/Distinguished Professor Emeritus Center for the Advancement of Medicine, University of Manitoba

Dr. Geraldine A. Kenney-Wallace (absence)

Director, Group e-Strategy, Learning & Information Technology City & Guilds

Dr. Guy Ourisson (absence)

Professor, Louis Pasteur University, Strasbourg Former Président of the French Science Academy

Dr. Hans L. R. Wigzell (abasence)

Professor, Karolinska Institutet

Dr. Paul Williams

Former Chairman and Chief Executive Council for the Central lab. of the Research Councils

Dr. Hiroo Imura

Chairman, Foundation for Biomedical Research and Innovation Counselor to the President, Japan Science and Technology Agency

Dr. Shigehiko Hasumi

Former President, The University of Tokyo Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo

Dr. Toshiaki Ikoma (Former FRAC Chair)

Director-General Center for Research and Development Strategy, Japan Science and Technology Agency

Dr. Mitiko Go

President, Ochanomizu University

RAC Members, concurrently acting as Advisory Council Chairs

Dr. Hidetoshi Fukuyama (Chair, Institute Laboratories Advisory Council [ILAC]) Professor Department of Applied Physics, Faculty of Science, Tokyo University of Science

Dr. Yoshihito Osada (Chair, Frontier Research System Advisory Council [FRAC]) Execitove, Vice President Professor of Graduate School of Science Division of Biological Sciences, Graduate School of Science Hokkaido University

Dr. Yoshitaka Nagai (Chair, BioResource Center Advisory Council [BRAC]) Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo

Dr. Tim Hubbard (Chair, Genomic Science Center Advisory Council [GSAC]) Head, Human Genome Analysis Group Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute

Dr. Wilhelm Gruissem (*Chair, Plant Science Center Advisory Council [PSAC]*) Professor, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich

Dr. Mark Lathrop (*Chair, SNP Research Center, Advisory Council [SRAC]*) Director General, Center National de Genotypage

Dr. Max D. Cooper (*Chair, Rsch Ctr for Allergy and Immunology Advisory Council [AIAC]*) Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Dr. Yo-ichi Nabeshima

Professor, Department of Pathology and Tumor Biology Graduate School of Medicine/Faculty of Medicine, Kyoto University (Member, Center for Developmental Biology Advisory Council [DBAC])

Dr. Tairo Oshima (*Chair, RIKEN SPring-8 Center Advisory Council [RSAC]*)) Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology Director, Institute of Environmental Microbiology, Kyowa Kako Co., Ltd.

Dr. Sydney Gales

(Chair, RIKEN Nishina Center for Accelerator Based Science Advisory Council [RNAC]) Director, GANIL (Grand Accelerateur National D'Ions Lourds) **Dr. Sten Grillner** (Member, Brain Science Institute Advisory Council [BSAC]) Professor Department of Neuroscience, Karolinska Institutet

(as of August 2006)